The Best Punctuation Book, Period.

That’s the title of the book, not my claim – but it is a strong recommendation. As part of my self-study, I wanted to get some books. Nothing digital. Paper is less cumbersome to work with, don’t you agree? One book I bought is an excellent reference for punctuation: “The Best Punctuation Book, Period” by June Casagrande.

There are style manuals, such as The Chicago Manual of Style, but I’m happy simply to gather a variety of books on different mechanics for those quick double-checks. I’m also stingy – those style manuals c-o-s-t.

This book is laid out with the first half focusing on the guidelines; each punctuation mark with solid explanations on usage. The right page has the mark in the column for fast reference.

The second half is an alphabetical list of how to spell troublesome words according to region, hyphenated or not according to style (academic, news, book, etc).

Do you have a favorite go-to book for proofreading and editing?

2 thoughts on “The Best Punctuation Book, Period.

  1. “Paper is less cumbersome to work with, don’t you agree?” Yes, I definitely agree. And I’m also stingy. 😊

    I’m still looking for a punctuation book that’s really handy, readable, and easy on the eyes. This “best punctuation book” looks promising.

Leave a comment